Next Stop Italy

February 16, 2012

After leaving the quesadillas behind in Mexico. I decided to make my next stop at a country that my great grandparents came from.. Italy. I did not know exactly what I was in the mood for I just knew I wanted something Italian. So when I was shopping at target I found a pack of noodles for 95 cents! Who can pass up that offer?

I decided I wanted to make a pasta but a different type of pasta you don’t usually see people making. After looking through my cabinets and refrigerator I found peperonis and put my thinking cap on. I thought why don’t I chop up the peporonis and put them in with the pasta noodles. So I gave it a try.

Ingredients: Pack of Pasta Noodles,Pepperoni,Marinara Sauce,Stove,Pot,Milk,Water,cutting board,knife

1. I put 1 cup of water and a half cup of milk into a pot and let it boil for about 3 minutes.

2.Then I dumped the pasta into the pot and stirred occasionally. Cook the pasta for about 8 minutes.

3. Next drain the pasta and let it sit in the pot and cool down, while the pasta is cooling down take 7 peporonis or however many you want in your pasta and chop them up on a cutting board. The peporonis are kind of hard to cut without moving so you would only be able to slice them once either vertically or horizonatally.

4.After you slice the peporonis take about 1 cup of marinara sauce and put it in a bowl and heat it in the microwave for about 40 seconds, make sure to cover the bowl or sauce will get everywhere in your microwave.

5. Take the cuttingboard and scrape the peporonis into the pot with the pasta. Then take the sauce and dump it into the pot with the pasta and the peporonis.

7. Stir ingredients for about 15 seconds. and finito! (finished in Italian)

This serves about 1 to 2 people or it can be used as a side dish. It was actually quite interesting to taste because my taste buds have never tried something so unique before! The whole meal cost under 10 dollars and it only took about 15 minuets to make and its healthy ( Just click this link from the National Pasta Association to see how healthy Pasta actually is)!. Not bad for a college kid ey?

I found this website to be Interesting and loaded with Pasta recipes and facts I never even knew existed.

Leave a Reply

